21 Nov

Sony, Sky Sports, and PTV have bought the rights to broadcast the 2020 Lanka Premier League (LPL), with Sri Lankan channel ITN securing the local terrestrial rights. 

Sony will broadcast the tournament throughout much of South Asia, particularly in India where Sri Lanka Cricket hopes desperately the tournament does well. PTV, meanwhile, will show it in Pakistan, while Sky Sports will broadcast it in the United Kingdom. Several Pakistan and England players have been drafted in the tournament, and two former India players - Irfan Pathan and Munaf Patel - have also been picked up by LPL teams. At least two of the five LPL teams have owners in India; the Galle Gladiators franchise is headed by Pakistani owners; and Jaffna Stallions have owners based in the UK. 

"LPL's broadcasting partner's - Sky, Sony, Geo, and PTV - global reach will help the League grow in stature and will help the league connect with millions of fans across the globe," tournament director Ravin Wickramasinghe said. 

The formalisation and announcement of broadcast partnerships comes as a boost to the tournament, which saw several high-profile player withdrawals this week, before two foreign players also tested positive for Covid-19 after arriving on the island. 

The LPL is set to begin on November 26 and runs until December 16. All matches will be played at the Mahinda Rajapaksha International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota. 

John Stephenson 


#Cricketnews #LPL2020 #Sony #SkySports #PTV #ITN 

* The email will not be published on the website.