07 Nov

Sony Sports India has obtained the rights to broadcast the Lanka Premier League (LPL) T20 Tournament set to begin later this month. In response to a question raised on Twitter, Sony Sports India confirmed that it will be broadcasting the tournament on its channel.

Sony Sports & Sony Ten will broadcast the league in India. Sony Pictures Network (SPN) is also the rights holder for Sri Lanka Cricket for next 3 years. According to the Indian website InsideSport, Sky Sports has acquired the rights for the UK territory. Organizers are also negotiating to sell the rights of the LPL 2020 in various other territories.

All matches will be played at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota, according to a report in the Hindustan Times.

The Health Ministry finally gave its approval only on 5th November for the tournament to be hosted in Sri Lanka following multiple meetings with relevant officials. The LPL will be held under strict health guidelines and in a bio-secure bubble, due to the prevalent coronavirus outbreak in the country.

“Holding of the tournament in Hambantota and in one venue, enhances our plan of setting up and maintaining an effective Bio-Secure Bubble, and with the approval coming from the government, we are now confident of going ahead with the tournament,” said Ravin Wickramaratne, Vice President of Sri Lanka Cricket and the Tournament Director of the LPL, told Hindustan Times.

The LPL will be held from 27th November -17th December 2020.

John Stephenson


#Cricketnews #LPL #SonySports

* The email will not be published on the website.