27 Nov

Streaming platform LIVENow has broadened its cricket portfolio by acquiring rights to the new Lanka Premier League (LPL) tournament. LIVENow has secured LPL rights in 111 countries through to the end of the 2024 season, including markets such as the UK, Australia, South Africa and the US. 

Aser Ventures’ recently launched LiveNow sports and entertainment streaming service has also gained LPL rights in 111 countries through to the end of the 2024 season, including the UK, the US, Australia, and South Africa. 

As part of that deal, LiveNow will offer live coverage from all 23 matches from the 15-day tournament, including the semi-finals and final due to be held between 13th and 16th December, while its coverage from the tournament’s first four matches will be made available for free. 

“T20 is an exciting format, cricket fans love it and it’s really accessible to sporting enthusiasts looking to discover something new,” said LiveNow director Marc Watson. “Our sports schedule is designed to engage audiences around the world, Lanka Premier League perfectly complements the variety and thrill of our programming.” 

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has secured broad media rights distribution for its inaugural domestic Lanka Premier League (LPL) Twenty20 franchise cricket competition when it starts on 26th November. That includes Sony Pictures Networks (SPN), which has acquired exclusive pay-TV and digital rights in India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Nepal, Bhutan and the Maldives, and further expands its long-standing broadcast partnership with SLC, which runs until 2023. 

The broadcaster has also gained non-exclusive free-to-air (FTA) rights to the LPL in all of the same countries, except for Sri Lanka, where the state-owned Independent Television Network will take on domestic terrestrial coverage for the five-team competition. 

Elsewhere, UK pay-TV network Sky Sports has also secured non-exclusive LPL rights, while pay-TV network Geo and state-owned broadcaster PTV have also been awarded rights in Pakistan. Five teams make up the LPL first season, including the Colombo Kings, Dambulla Vikings, Galle Gladiators, Jaffna Stallions and Kandy Tuskers, who will compete in eight games during the first round. 

John Stephenson 


#Cricketnews #LPL #LIVENow #AserVentures #SLC

* The email will not be published on the website.